Five Ways to Celebrate Halloween in Rome

Unofficial Guide to Rome

 mummy halloween vatican museum mummia coffin feet

I love Halloween. I’ve never been one to spend a lot of time on my costume (I’m more of a last minute find-something-weird-in-my-wardrobe sort of girl), but I love Halloween celebrations, horror movies, admiring other people’s outfits and decorating my house with spooky gore. Most of all, I love remembering the joy of transformation it gave me as a child, as I became a pirate, a football player or a Jedi (and, of course, ate way too much candy).

Halloween has its roots in a celtic harvest festival called Samhain, which was later transformed into All Hallows Eve under Christianity. Trick-or-treating is a uniquely American affair, one which has met with criticism after its export to other parts of the world. For us Americans, trick-or-treating is a fond childhood memory and a timeless tradition. In other places it is often seen as just another way in which consumerist American society has seeped its way…

View original post 715 more words

About skipshea

Horror Filmmaker and Fan skipshea.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

